Scones: Cinnamon Roll Style

I’ve been trying to rotate the posts I put up.  Healthier food one week….not as healthy, but still delicious the next week.  For this week, it’s time to share a wonderful breakfast treat!  I saw this recipe on Annie’s Eats, one of my favorite food blogs, and I knew I would really enjoy it.  The steps are a little more complicated than scones usually are, but it’s definitely worth it.  These scones come out moist and fluffy and delicious.  I also froze half of what I made, and they are just as good baked straight from the freezer.

I adapted Annie’s recipie slightly.  I didn’t include pecans or cinnamon chips in the filling (because I didn’t have any) and I omitted the glaze.  I like them more plain.  I’ll post directions for the glaze below.

Enjoy!  And thanks for reading.

Dough
1 stick unsalted butter, frozen whole
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup greek yogurt
1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt

Filling
Little bit of milk or cream, for brushing
3 tbsp. sugar
3/4 tsp. ground cinnamon
2/3 cup chopped pecans (optional)
1/4 cup cinnamon chips (optional)

Glaze
1 cup confectioner’s sugar
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 tbsp. milk

1) Preheat the oven to 425F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2) Grate the frozen butter.  I use my food processor, but you could also use a grater.

3) Whisk together the milk and yogurt, keep in the fridge until you need it.  Combine flours, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a bowl.  Add the grated butter to the flour and use your hands to cover all the pieces of butter with flour.

4) Using a spatula to combine, add the milk/yogurt to the dry ingredients.  Place the dough on a floured surface.  Knead a few times, until all the dry ingredients have been worked in.

5) With a rolling pin, roll the dough into a 12 inch square.  Fold the dough into thirds, like you would fold a letter. Then told the short ends of the dough into thirds, until you have a little square.  Put it on a floured plate and let chill in the freezer for 5 minutes.

6) While the dough is chilling, combine the filling ingredients in a small bowl (don’t combine the milk/cream).

6) After the dough is chilled, roll it out into a 10 inch square.  Brush the milk/cream on a dough.  Sprinkle the filling evenly over the dough.  Roll the dough up into a tight log and place the log, seam side down.  Cut the log into 8 rough discs.

7) Place the discs on the baking sheet and brush the top with melted butter and sprinkle with sugar.  Bake until golden brown, about 16-20 minutes.  Let cool on a wire rack.

8) If you want to glaze them, combine the glaze ingredients with a whisk.  Drizzle over the cooled scones.

Adapted from Annie’s Eats

Work in progress!

One thought on “Scones: Cinnamon Roll Style

  1. Pingback: Granola—to go along with Greek yogurt | agirlacatandakitchen

Leave a comment