Avocado, Tomato and Pepper Salad

As part of my attempts to mix up the lunches that I bring to work, I’ve learned to like avocados.  I previously never understood why people would get so excited about them, but I’ve become a convert.  I like their creamy texture.  I saw this recipe in a friend’s cookbook, so decided to try and improvise with the ripe avocado I had in the fridge.  I put the salad over spinach and I think it’ll make enough for about 4 lunches this week.  I also kept the dressing in a separate container and added it to my lunch container the day before I bring it to work.  Hope you enjoy!

1. Combine:

  • 1 pepper, diced
  • A container of grape tomatoes, cut in half
  • 1 avocado, diced

I think you can also also add whatever other veggies you had on hand or thought would taste good.  I didn’t have red onion, but that also might be tasty.  The original recipe also called for black beans, but I didn’t happen to have any.

2. For the dressing, whisk together:

  • Zest of one lime
  • Juice from one lime
  • 1 teaspoon of minced garlic
  • A few tablespoons of olive oil (I added a little bit at a time to taste)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Adapted from Barefoot Contessa at Home

Leave a Reply

