Spinach Salad with a Citrus Twist

I saw this salad on a blog the other day and thought it looked like it had some interesting flavors.  I also made enough so that I could take it to lunch all week and I added some turkey sausage for a bit of protein.  I tend to get hungry so quickly at work (like a hungry caterpillar), so the more substantial lunch is, the better.  I heard from someone this weekend who has checked out my blog (thanks Andrew!), so I’m going to try to incorporate more pictures in each post.  I added a few below so that you can see the meal in progress.  It’s not the prettiest process, but it did taste good!

Thanks for reading!

Ingredients

For caramelizing the onions
1 sliced onion ( I used half white onion and half red onion)
3 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
salt and pepper

For the sausage
Two links turkey sausage (or whatever kind you prefer)
olive oil

1. In two separate saute pans, heat up the olive oil.  For the onions, get the oil hot and add the balsamic vinegar, the onions and the salt and pepper.  Cook over medium heat, stirring frequently,  till the onions turn soft and lightly brown (about 20 minutes)

2. For the sausage, heat up the olive oil and add the sausage.  I usually remove it from the casing and break it up into smaller bits.  Cook all the way through, until it is lightly browned.

For the salad
One grapefruit,segmented
Washed spinach (or whatever salad greens you feel like!)

For the dressing
2 tbsp red wine vinegar
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice (I just used the juice of one lemon)
1 tsp honey
1/4 cup olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

3. For the dressing, combine all ingredients except the olive oil.  Pour in the olive oil slowly until it tastes the way you like.  I probably added less than 1/4 a cup of olive oil.

4. Arrange the grapefruit pieces, sausage and onions over the spinach.  Pour dressing over it and combine.

5. Enjoy the extras for lunch if you want.  I kept the dressing, spinach, grapefruit and onion/sausage all separate until the night before. I wasn’t sure if if would get too soggy.  Enjoy!


Adapted from Apple a Day. Originally from a Giada recipe found on FoodNetwork.com

One thought on “Spinach Salad with a Citrus Twist

Leave a Reply

