Roasted Acorn Squash, Barley, Spinach and Feta

I’ve recently been trying to prepare a good amount of food on the weekends to take for lunch for the whole week.  I’ve also been trying to learn how to cook and eat different vegetables, like acorn squash.  I pretty much avoided all different types of squash growing up.  So I’m expanding my horizons!  Acorn squash had a sweet, delicious taste.  This was a meal that I made on the weekend and was able to divide up to take to lunch each week.   I ended up dividing up the food into three different containers, so they were ready to grab each day when I went to work.  Overall, it was a pretty tasty lunch!  And I still enjoyed it as much on the third day.

Ingredients

1 acorn squash

bunch of spinach (could also substitute kale or other greens)

barley (enough to make about 1-2 cups cooked)

feta cheese

olive oil

salt and pepper

dressing of your choice

optional: walnuts or sunflower seeds

1. Cut the acorn squash into long strips and remove the seeds.  Toss the slices with olive oil, salt and pepper.  Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and roast at 425F for about 30-40 minutes.  The acorn squash should be tender.  Remove from the oven and let it cool.

2. Prepare the barley as directed by the package.

3. When the acorn squash is done, cut into cube size pieces.  Rinse the spinach and cut into easy-to-eat pieces.

4. Prepare the salads.  I divided them up into the three containers I was going to take to work.  I placed barley on the bottom, spinach next and topped it with acorn squash and feta cheese.

5. I put the salad dressing on my salad each morning before I went to work so that it wouldn’t get soggy.

Adapted from A Couple of Cooks

Leave a Reply

